help

Since we’ve been back from New York we have had new help around the house.  Previously, we employed a woman who came and cleaned (swept, mopped, washed dishes) and ironed once a week.  However, she is pregnant and decided to start leaving some of her jobs and offered to have her sister come work with us.  The sister came a couple times, but we didn’t click and the job wasn’t so good.

Now we have Paty.  Paty has been working for Adolfo’s mother since Adolfo was living at home.  Adolfo’s mother trained her to cook her recipes.  Already, she has made us picadillo, lengua en salsa roja, rice (mexican style), jamaica and the famous tomatillo and chile de arbol salsa. Also, Paty is really good at what she does.

There were some recipes which I’ve eaten at Adolfo’s mother’s house and really liked and was really excited to have Paty here once a week to cook some of these very mexican dishes.  One of the first ones I asked for was the lengua.

I went with her to buy the tongue (lengua), as I have never purchased tongue and had no idea what questions I would need to answer, how much to get, or how to recognize quality.  First of all, tongue is huge!  I thought we would be getting two or three and it would be about a kilo of meat.  No.  One was plenty and weighed about two kilos.  Also, it was frozen solid. Paty and the butcher agreed that tongue was always sold frozen.  I do not know why, when everything else at the butcher shop seems to be refrigerated, or not.  (Also, Adolfo says this is not true and he remembers buying tongue with his mother and it was not frozen.)  And, the one question the butcher asked was:  Hijo o padre? (Son or father?)  Paty opted for “hijo”, and I think I would have made the same choice on my own.

So, we took the giant, frozen tongue home and I went back to work and so did Paty.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to look over Paty’s shoulder while she was making the tongue, but she did give me a few tips while I was making excessive trips to the kitchen, for example:  the tongue is boiled for a couple hours and then it has to be cooled before you peel off an outer membrane, slice it and put it into the sauce, also it starts off pretty chewy and will soften the longer it cooks.

Later, for lunch there was lengua en salsa roja, as if by magic.  It is wonderful to have lunch just appear.  We are really happy to have Paty around and one of these days I will have less work and be able to hover while she cooks – I’m not sure Paty is looking forward to this day as much as I am.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “help”

  1. Em Says:

    You really not a real american 😉 How can you like tongue ?? Even me who are one those french girl… I don’t like (actually, I even never tried because just by looking I find it terrible…), but maybe I should try the one that Patty cooks 😉

  2. Barbara Says:

    Sounds like heaven, except for the tongue part!

  3. Paul Parkinson Says:

    OK, I’m psyched! We just had a cow butchered and I asked for the organ meats (you have to take all) and included was a tongue! I’ve looked on line and found some suggestions. Will she share her recipe?

    • deeb Says:

      I’ll have to ask, I know she boiled it for a while first with an onion a carrot and a couple bay leaves, until she decided it was done. Then she cooled it and sliced it (maybe a quarter of an inch thick?) and cooked it some more with tomato sauce and some of the broth, a sliced carrot, some onion, and maybe some other things… just before she turned it off she added some green olives, capers and would have added a roasted red pepper, but I didn’t have one.
      Em – you have to come visit so we can take you on a tongue-tasting-tour!

Leave a Reply

