The obvious

About the Swine Flu, we have no cases in the State of Jalisco.  Nevertheless, all classes are canceled until the 6th.  Movie theaters, bars, museums and other places where large amounts of people gather are closed until the 6th.  The restaurants are open and on Tuesday, when we went to buy Adolfo’s guayabera for the wedding, I saw the restaurants doing pretty good business.  I don’t see panic in the streets, people seem pretty calm.

We aren’t really heading out unless it is necessary – Adolfo went out to a meeting this morning and I think he went to another meeting on Tuesday.  Any business that can is be handled by phone or email.  I’m fielding a lot of questions from my coworkers and students and Adolfo has a translation project he’s working on, so we are busy at home.  I probably won’t go to the Abastos market this weekend and will go instead to a small supermarket.  Also, my excursion was canceled yesterday – we were supposed to leave for Michoacan tomorrow.  I’m really sad about that.

All in all, I’m about to get really bored here at home.  I hope we will be back to normal soon, the country is losing a lot of money on all these closures.

Tags:

One Response to “The obvious”

  1. calistarm Says:

    Well, we have the swine flu here in KS, but nothing is canceled. Somehow it seems that it should be backwards.

Leave a Reply

