guasanas

I have been seeing these things in the food stalls around town and I just haven’t been able to figure them out. The food stalls here are very seasonal and I remember these things from last year.

They are green and steaming, appear to be a pod of some sort and sold in little bags. Usually the stand is also selling roasted peanuts. My first thought is fava beans, but I know that favas are called habas here. I asked Adolfo several times if they are habas and he always says no, but can’t tell me what they are – except that he doesn’t really like them… not unusual.

So, we recently had some visitors in town for a day and a half and they were also commenting on these things. And, finally, I was motivated to the dictionaries. First up, the International Gastronomic Dictionary in Spanish – no dice. Second, the Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Spanish and English) – nothing. Finally, I looked in the Diccionario de Mexico. Jackpot!

Guasanas: Toasted green garbanzo beans that are sold in the streets of Jalisco.

Of course Adolfo doesn’t like them, he HATES garbanzo beans!

Now I’ve got to get my hands on some before the season ends.

Tags:

4 Responses to “guasanas”

  1. Paul Says:

    One of my dad’s friends came from Italy when he was ten. He said one of his few memories of Italy was putting garbanzo beans in the street gutter when it rained and by the time they go to the end of the block, they were edible. I can’t imagine….

  2. Beth Says:

    I am so grossed out by eating beans out of the street. I can’t believe you have to figure out what they were before you tried them.

  3. Barbara Says:

    I wonder who came up with that recipe?! Place beans in gutter approximately 25 foot from drain sewer. Wait………….

  4. Randallito Says:

    I like the dried garbanzo beans with chile, salt and limon that you can buy in a bag at Food City. Salty, crunchy and good with Tecate.

Leave a Reply

