I can smell it in the air

Well, it’s Christmas time here. How can you tell? Well, aside from the regular stuff like trees on top of cars going down the street, stores selling twinkly lights and the like, yesterday I saw salt cod in the supermarket.

Salt cod is traditionally made into a dish called Bacalao. And, like turkey is assigned a holiday. I’ve never had Bacalao at any other time of year. I’ve never made Bacalao before and in fact have never made anything with salt cod. However, I quite like the Bacalao that Adolfo’s mother makes for Christmas. So, when she asked if my family liked Bacalao for Christmas, I said, I don’t know, but I like Bacalao for Christmas.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “I can smell it in the air”

  1. Barbara Says:

    Uh-oh!

  2. nb Says:

    ooh I’ve always wanted to have this! really looking forward to it. I have read several recipes but of course I never see the salt cod necessary to make it, so it’s a total waste.

  3. Barbara Says:

    sounds like we’ll be having many epicurean delights at Christmas!

  4. John G Says:

    Is this cod from the sea, or just salty cod? If it’s the latter it makes the turkey sound quite appetizing. JGW

Leave a Reply

