Ice Cream

I made ice cream for the second time, first time vanilla custard, second time chocolate custard. Sometime around the beginning of the summer I decided to stop buying ice cream. The majority of the ice cream in the grocery store is not very good. They do have a selection of Häagen-Dazs and Ben & Jerry’s, but they cost something like $7 USD per pint. (This supermarket selection is not to be compared with the ice cream you can find in the street or in ice cream parlors. That ice cream is excellent – fresh and natural (mostly).)

I don’t eat a lot of ice cream, but sometimes I like to have a spoonful after dinner. This was ok when I was working like a crazy person, I would buy the really expensive imported ice cream and it would last me about 3 months. But, now I have a much more relaxed schedule and I need to think more about saving money.

In the first ice cream experiment, I tried to use the Harold McGee’s “Ice Cream in a Bag” recipe (sort of). I was more interested in a custard-type ice cream than the egg-less one he offered. I used the salad spinner bowl and everything else he recommends, and the ice cream did not freeze.

I think I just don’t keep enough ice on hand to do this. I tried to make some more ice cubes of unboiled water, but then I had to remember to keep the unboiled from the boiled (non-potable vs. potable). And, after the experiment, it made me really sad to throw all that water down the drain – it was way to salty to put on the plants.

So, I had to finish off my vanilla custard ice cream in the freezer, which seemed to work just fine. Still in the zip-lock bag, I took it out of the freezer every 30 minutes and mushed it up and stuck it back in the freezer as flat as I could make it. When it was about the consistency of soft-serve, I put it in a freezer box and stuck it back in the freezer. I stirred it one or two times more after the transfer to the freezer box. The next day we tried it out – and it was really good!

Since I recently finished the vanilla custard ice cream, I decided to try again – this time in chocolate and no ice cubes. This also worked, it probably took longer, but I didn’t have anywhere to go, so getting up every hour to mush the zip-lock bag was not too terrible. I think it took half a day, but I wasn’t keeping track.

All in all, if I’m doing this every 2-3 months, it’s not bad. The ice cream is really tasty and much cheaper than the grocery store offerings.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Ice Cream”

  1. Jenn's an Ice Cream Maker Says:

    Great! Glad you made some tasty ice cream! We’ve given up on buying ice cream from the store as well! We make our own about 1 or more batches a week! It’s cheaper and we can have whatever flavor we want! Yum!

  2. Paul Says:

    Ah! A culinarily resourceful niece, you make me proud!

  3. AJ Burke Says:

    If you want to try something new and exciting, remember I have that whole book of ice cream recipes from Aunt Barbara, from which you can learn to make ice cream from every fruit and vegetable you can find (pretty much). Just ask if I have a recipe for X.

Leave a Reply

