Corn smut is a disease

Things are really busy around here right now.  My boss is coming to town next week, so I’m spending all my time coordinating his schedule and harassing my students (don’t forget this thing, and that other thing, and please respond if you want to do this, or that, and one more thing…..). 

Meanwhile, Adolfo took down the clothes line and hung up a hammock!  Now I have to figure out the correct posture for writing emails while laying in a hammock.  (my life is sooooo difficult!)

Also, we’ve run out of cookies, which constitutes a household disaster.  But I don’t have time to make any right now, so frozen banana nut muffins will have to do.

I bought some huitlacoche at the Abastos market this weekend, so I need to read up on my Diana Kennedy to see what I’m supposed to do with it – and just how do I clean it – and how do I know when it’s clean since it is black like dirt.

By the way, I’m not sure I would want to eat this stuff if I were first learning about it on the Wikipedia page.  “Corn smut is a disease…”

Without referencing my Diana Kennedy, I also bought a couple handfuls of squash blossoms, two poblano chiles and some cream.  I think we should be able to mix this all together somehow and eat it in tacos.

And speaking of which, the other day a friend was telling me how she cooked up some interesting looking mushrooms with some onions and a little chopped tomato.  When I asked her if she ate it with pasta, she looked at me, with her head cocked to one side and said, “No Della, I’m Mexican, we eat tacos.”  Ever since then, the phrase has popped into my head with regularity.  No Della, you’re in Mexico, eat tacos.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Corn smut is a disease”

  1. Leah Says:

    you are writing of corn smut, Aaron is in Australia eating Dead Horse on his fries, such a diverse family, I’m proud.

  2. Madeline Says:

    What did the Corn Smut taste like?

  3. Barbara Says:

    Did you make Adolfo sick again? tee-hee

  4. AJ Burke Says:

    What are you going to do w/o a clothesline?
    I can’t waaaaait to come to Gdja. The rains have started here. So, so rainy. It’s like Chile all over again.

  5. Paul Says:

    I remember several years ago reading an article about how Corn Smut was becoming a delicacy in some higher class restaurants. I gagged then, too.

  6. deeb Says:

    The huitlecoche was actually really good. It was, not surprisingly, a lot like a mushroom with some corn undertones. I took some pictures, but adolfo hasn’t posted them yet. I fried it up with the squash blossoms and a poblano pepper. Excellent in quesadillas!

    I have a laundry room with three clothes lines, so I’m still doing fine on the clothes line front.

Leave a Reply

