Picadillo

So, there have been some requests along the way for a recipe you can make with ingredients that are easily available up north. Today, I made picadillo for the second time and I think I’ve got it right now. I received the original recipe from Adolfo’s mother.

Picadillo

1/2 medium onion, diced
1 -2 ribs of celery, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 lb. ground beef
1/2 lb. ground pork, or several strips of bacon, diced
2 T. tomato sauce (not paste)
2-3 medium potatoes, diced
2-3 carrots, diced
2 apples, diced (or 1/2 c. raisins)
1/4 c. chopped pecans
1/4 c. slivered almonds (or sliced almonds)

Fry the first three ingredients in a large skillet, or wok, with a little oil until translucent. Add ground meat and cook until the juice from the meat has evaporated and it is beginning to brown (this takes a while). Add the tomato sauce and the rest of the ingredients and enough water to barely cover, about 4 cups. Cook uncovered over medium heat until the water has evaporated and the potatoes are cooked through.

This recipe is easy, but takes a while to make.  I’m freezing the leftovers so we can have some during the week.  I think this picadillo is somewhat similar to Hash, but more intricate and interesting.  We ate ours in quesadillas, but you can make tacos or eat it over rice with some hot sauce, it’s pretty versatile.

7 Responses to “Picadillo”

  1. summer picnic Says:

    It does sound versatile–and the pecans and apples are intriguing additions. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Paul Says:

    I’m going to be grinding some pork this week, we’ll give it a try.

  3. Paul Says:

    OK, so I spent my afternoon off cooking this stuff. Are you sure this isn’t a Welsh recipe? I couldn’t figure out why such a small amount of tomato sauce….not enough to notice. Pretty good.

  4. deeb Says:

    Excellent! I am not sure why the small amount of tomato sauce, but I was specifically told by a couple people that it’s not supposed to be tomato-y.

    I’m not sure about the Welsh connection, but this is a similar recipe to their family’s Turkey stuffing recipe (less veg, more fruit).

  5. Stella Says:

    Stella wants to say Hi and that she loves you, but wants to know “what is that gross thing at the top of the page. Do you eat those things?”

  6. Paul Says:

    The Welsh connection is the lack of spices, kind of meat and potatoes type thing. Good, but not exciting.

  7. deeb Says:

    Stella: the “gross thing” at the top of the page is my hand holding a torta ahogada. Tortas are kinds of sandwiches, this one had pork meat, and ahogada means drowned. This torta was drowned in a tomato sauce. Ask your Aunt Nancy and Uncle Mick, I think they liked them when they tried them. By the way – you eat them for breakfast!

    Paul: I get it now. I never noticed the Welsh connection since we put hot sauce on ours and eat it in quesadillas.

Leave a Reply

