Las olimpiadas

So, we are watching the Olympics and a couple things are striking to me.

I’m seeing sports on TV here that I don’t think I’ve ever seen before.  Last night, Adolfo asked me what they were showing, he was in the kitchen, and I didn’t know the name of the sport!  I said, it looks kind of like basketball mixed with hockey and soccer.  He responded, “???” and then took a look at the TV and said, “oh, that’s handball.”  Who knew.

I’m not seeing as much of the US as I am of Brazil, Mexico and Spain.

The commentators are the same the world over.  Inane comments and bizzare “facts” are interspersed throughout the commentary.  The parade of nations at the opening ceremonies was particularly strange.  But, I did love the interview with the Mexican tourists who had shirts made which said in Chinese characters, “We’re from Mexico!” They said the Chinese were stopping in their tracks to read their shirts – hysterical.

Also, so far, there are no athlete sob stories.  No specials, no hallmark hour, just sports.

But, the best part of the Olympics, so far, is that there are hardly any commercials!  It seems like there are maybe 3 ads every half hour or so.  It’s excellent!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

