Pitahaya

I made new discoveries at the abastos market this morning. My friend and I parked in a new place and I spotted a little market place, which looked kind of interesting. As we got closer, I realized it was very interesting indeed – they had baby bok choy! And, there were Chinese people buying vegetables.

I spotted some Asian eggplant and looked over the bok choy and other Asian cabbages. After we went through our regular market place and returned to the car, I spotted one other interesting item – the illusive Pitahaya! I bought one and when we returned to my apartment we split it open and ate the whole thing. It was super-tasty with a sweet melon-y/strawberry-y flavor and also similar to the pitaya and other cactus fruits in texture.

Leave a Reply

