Go Bears?

The new futon just arrived!  In time for my parent’s visit next week, and our month-long visitor in July.

I had a very interesting conversation with one of the futon deliverymen.  I was speaking to him in Spanish and it came time for the payment and he said to me in English, “please sign the form here and put the date.  I think from your accent you might speak some English.”  I said, why yes, I do speak English.  He asked where I was from and I said originally Missouri, but we came here from California.  (I often add the California part because people are usually looking for a connection and people are more likely to have a connection with California than Missouri.)

So, he starts talking to me about all the Western movies set in Missouri and how it appears to be a rough state, if Clint Eastwood is its representative.  Then he tells me he grew up in California.  I asked where and he said San José, and then he went to high school in Oakland and then Cal State Hayward and attended  UC Berkeley (to which he said, “Go Bears!”).

We were stunned.

I often talk to people who have spent some time in California and we exchange some pleasantries about how nice the BART is or the bridges or the weather, but I hadn’t spoken to anyone who really grew up there.  He also had the best English of anyone who has tried to practice their English with me.

We were left speechless, with our new futon.

Leave a Reply

