Fruit salad, of sorts

We had our first real rain of the rainy season last night and I am looking forward to the thunderstorms to come. The lights only flickered once, so we cannot count this one in the “serious thunderstorm” category. But, I’m ok with that as we were having an impromptu party. (My friend called yesterday at about 6:30 to tell us that the former location of the party we were going to attend needed to be changed and she was nominating our house.)

In the morning, I went to the Abastos market with another friend while we left her 7-month-old baby with Adolfo. We were able to find all kinds of treasures and I got up the nerve to buy my first two guanábanas! I will soon try to make them into guanábana juice. I also purchased some pitayas (which are in season now), several tunas, a papaya and a bunch of baby bananas. (Hopefully, Adolfo will post some photos soon…)

(Also, I’m not going to link to the Wikipedia definition of Pitayas because they’ve got it all wrong. They are confusing two different fruits – here, one is called Pitayas and is the fruit of the Organ Pipe cactus and the other is called Pitahayas and I’ve never seen one in person. Of the second, the name in English is supposed to be Dragon Fruit.)

I’ve also recently re-discovered a cheese that I once had a taste test of, bought it, ate it, and could never find it again. My problem? I was describing the cheese to the cheese lady as “it was a lot like Mozzarella, but wasn’t called Mozzarella.” What was the cheese actually labeled? Cheddar! Of course, it tastes nothing like any cheddar I ever knew. So, if you need a mild, creamy, Mozzarella-like white cheese – ask for Cheddar.

Also, I found (with the brilliant assistance of the party-moving friend) a great bakery. I bought about 8 or 10 cups of croûtons and two small loaves of bread (like for sub sandwiches) for about $3 USD. Sadly, I cannot remember the nifty name of this bakery! I do know where it is located, so not to worry, I’ll be back.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Fruit salad, of sorts”

  1. iliana Says:

    The name of the bakery is very important: Pan en resistencia. La revolución de las masas. Which means something like: Bred in “resistance”. The revolution of the masses.

  2. deeb Says:

    Yes! And, that “la revolución de las masas” is a sort of pun, since it does mean “revolution of the masses” but also that “masas” also means “doughs”. So, it could also be the “revolution of the bread doughs”!

    Thanks Iliana!

Leave a Reply

