Hot, hot, hot

Things are getting very warm here. It is nothing like an Arizona summer, nor is it wet and sticky like a Missouri summer, but all the same we are feeling the heat. Everyone says this is the hottest time of the year. As soon as the rains come, in June, the temperature drops back down to the 80s.

I’ve been making lots of salads, which are mostly composed of lettuce, carrot, cucumber, finely diced onion, avocado, and mango. The dressing is 2 tablespoons olive oil to 1 tablespoon lime juice with a smashed and finely diced garlic clove, salt and pepper. (I think I got this dressing recipe from Françoise.)

Everything is variable.

Today, for instance, I added a tomato and some parsley. The dressing had some chopped capers and white wine vinegar instead of lime juice.

We also tried some lentil burgers I found at the Ecotienda and they were remarkably good. And, there was NO terrible stomachache afterwards. I sautéed the lentil burgers in olive oil and we ate them along side the salad. If I am to continue with this trend, I may try to make my own lentil burger.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Hot, hot, hot”

  1. Em Says:

    I didn’t know we could put a mango into a salade ! I love mango and I never dared to do that. What kind of sauce do you make then ? A kind of sugar sauce ?

  2. deeb Says:

    Em, I think the mango is so sweet that I like a lime juice, olive oil and garlic salad dressing. Also, I think a lot of black pepper is good with the mango. My advice would be to look for contrasts to balance the flavors.

  3. AJ Burke Says:

    Um, I was just catching up on Adolfo’s photos…nice lunar eclipse, fireworks, architecture, and then mechanic’s buttcrack??!?!? I just can’t see Adolfo stepping up and shooting that.

Leave a Reply

