Chayote Soup

Well, a lot has happened in the last week or so. Adolfo got the worst cold I have witnessed (including a nasty fever) and I had a really rough week at work, resulting in me quitting my job. The same day I quit my job, I got an email letting me know that a job in my field was being created in Guadalajara. I have my second interview on Wednesday and if all goes well, the day after my last day of work at my current job (I gave them two weeks) I’ll start at my new job. Fingers crossed, of course.

I’m having a four-day weekend, due to Labor Day (May 1st) falling on a Thursday. And, now I’m feeling sick. It’s just a runny nose and general exhaustion, but it still stinks. Adolfo is mostly recovered. We’ve been taking a lot of naps.

I made a really great Chayote Soup from epicurious.com to try and cure my nose through spicy food. It didn’t work, but the soup was better than I expected.

I changed it a little, based on what I had and how much effort I was willing to put into it. So, I’m giving you the revised recipe below:

Chayote Soup

½ onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, chopped
1 small chile Serrano chopped
½ tablespoon butter
2 chayotes, peeled, quartered and pitted, cut into large dice (2 ½ cups)
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 cups vegetable or chicken broth (I had leftovers of both and tossed them in.)

Cook onion, garlic and chile in butter over medium low heat for several minutes until onion is clear. Add chayotes, cilantro and cook for another 2 minutes. Add broth and simmer, covered until chayotes are tender, about 15 minutes.

Purée soup in 2 batches in a blender until smooth (be careful blending the piping hot soup) maybe for 1 full minute for each batch. Taste for salt.

This soup is spicy and a lovely green color. I think it would probably be good with a little dollop of sour cream, but I didn’t have any on hand for testing.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Chayote Soup”

  1. Paul Says:

    First, we don’t know what Chayotes are and second, I’m pretty sure Macon doesn’t have them. I’ll have Amy send you her modified chicken rice-so-you-have-cold recipe.

    Take care

  2. Beth Says:

    Thank goodness – I was feeling inferior. How bout some soups we can make in MO.

  3. AJ Burke Says:

    You can probably substitute coyote for chayote…it’s pretty close (in spelling at least). 😉

  4. deeb Says:

    Actually, I suspect AJ can find chayotes (check the latino grocery). I could find them in the Berkeley Bowl. Paul and Beth are probably out of luck. Maybe AJ will bring you some on her next visit.

Leave a Reply

